THE STUDIO RECORDING: Heidi Wait: flutes Lindsay Leach-Sparks: alto flute • Wendy Spitzer: oboe Carrie Shull: cor anglais Ben Riseling: clarinet David Jordan: clarinet Rachael Elliott: bassoon • Joseph Provenzano: horn • Zenia Zheng: horn • Kent Foss: trumpet in C Andy Shull: trumpet in B-flat Daniel Zhu: trombone Hank Pellerin: trombone & tuba • Jackson Valentine: timpani & percussion • Leslie Noyce Howard: percussion • Billy Sugarfix: percussion • Lucy Vander Kamp: harp • Katherine Gill: violin • Rebekah Givens: violin • Kathryn Pearson: violin Omar Ruiz-Lopez: violin • Laura Thomas: violin Hjordis Tourian: violin • Emily Yuan: violin Sara Moore: viola • Laura Quillen: viola • Ken Rogerson: viola Katherine Stalberg: viola • John Barrile: cello • Chris Eubank: cello • Joshua Starmer: cello Daniel Thune: double bass Douglas Vuncannon: double bass
Now streaming on Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon, Youtube Music and elsewhere. Purchase downloads and compact discs on Bandcamp.

Word Premiere October 6th, 2017
Sydney International Composers Concert 2017

Verbrugghen Hall, Sydney, Australia
Performed by the Sydney Contemporary Orchestra

THE WORLD PREMIERE: Conductor: Dr. Brian Chatpo Koo • Flute: Samantha Joseph (Principal & Alto Flute); Rachel Herbert • Oboe: Hamish Spicer (Principal & Cor Anglais); Callum Hogan • Clarinet: Andrew Doyle (Principal); Jason Xanthoudakis • Bassoon: Sarajane Hansen (Principal); Long Nguyen • French Horn: Radu Boros (Principal); Genevieve Campbell; Rafael Salgado; Cindy Sims • Trumpet: Andrew del Riccio (Principal); David Johnson Trombone: Ellie Shearer (Principal); Chris Upton Tuba: Gregory Bennett • Timpani: Steven Machamer Percussion: Kaylie Dunstan (Principal); David Zucker • Harp: Loni Fitzpatrick Violin I: Beata Stanowska (Concertmaster); Naomi Warr; Anny Bing Xia (Co-concertmaster); Dorothy Sercombe; Paul Pokorny (Co-concertmaster); Jelena Cvetkovic; YeRi Lee; Macaren Herbert; Mar'yana Sywak • Violin II: Armine Gargrtsyan (Principal); Sonya Meher; Jacinta McPhillamy; Elena Tobalkina; Isabel Tzorbatzaki; Claudia Seibold; Rosy Timms • Viola: Rosemary Davidson (Principal); Parvin Afandiyeva; Eleanore Vuong; Julia Pokorny; Kathryn Ramsay • Cello: Michal Wieczorek (Principal); Marcin Wolski; Wendy Burge; Nazli Sendurgut; Christina Kim; Kayla Flaxman • Doublebass: Vitalily Palitsyn (Principal); Jeremy Fox; Ethan Ireland; David Potts

Program Note

Sinfonietta Fukushima (2013), a satirical tone poem in reaction to the eponymous disaster in Japan, is by turns serious and whimsical. It expresses restlessness in mood and tonality, and attempts to balance pessimism with evocations of nostalgia and a searching, clear-eyed resolution.

Limited Edition CD

Order a copy of the studio recording on Bandcamp.


2 Flutes (Flute 1 doubling Alto Flute)
Oboe (doubling Cor Anglais)
2 Clarinets in Bb

2 Horns in F
Trumpet in C


Percussion (2 players)
Claves, Crash Cymbal, Medium Gong, Snare Drum, Splash Cymbal, Tam-tam & Tubular Bells


First Violins, Second Violins, Violas, Cellos & Basses

Abandoned City of Tomioka, Fukushima Prefecture, Japan. 2014.
35mm color negative strip



In 2014, the composer visited the radioactive ghost towns of Fukushima. View Fukushima Travelogue, which includes standard and panoramic 35mm photographs and text.


For assistance, thanks to Jay Cartwright, Sara Woodmansee and, especially, Wendy Spitzer. And also thanks to Masao Nakahara for giving me a ride out of the abandoned city of Tomioka.

 direct inquiries to
All rights reserved © 2013–2017 Douglas Vuncannon.